Stay Informed

Optional Member Code

About the Baltimore City Democratic State Central Committee

The Baltimore City Democratic State Central Committee (BCDSCC) is comprised of 42 elected members from six legislative districts in Baltimore City.  The BCDSCC is responsible for building the Democratic Party organization at the city level; registering Democratic voters; and encouraging Election Day turn out among Democratic voters.  BCDSCC members are the grass roots-level elected volunteers of the Maryland Democratic Party. 

The BCDSCC encourages participation of all Democratic voters as well as disseminates the Democratic message, platform, and philosophy. The BCDSCC is also tasked with:

  • encouraging qualified Democrats to seek office;
  • helping to inform voters of the issues;
  • providing social activities and events;
  • encouraging those interests which maintain party harmony;
  • raising funds for the Democratic Party; and
  • supporting and endorsing all Democratic nominees in a General Election.

BCDSCC members have the official responsibility to fill vacancies of certain offices due to death or resignation of an elected official, and fill any vacancy when there is a failure to have a Democratic Candidate file for nomination.  The BCDSCC also recommends to the Governor appointment of the members and substitute members for the local County Board of Elections and at times makes recommendations to other state and county boards.  

Current Committee Members

Role of Central Committee Members

Current BCDSCC By-Laws updated Nov 2017


Prepared By John T. Willis

Former Secretary of State, State of Maryland 

The Maryland Democratic Party is among the oldest, continuous existing political organizations in the world.  It was on May 21, 1827, that a meeting of Andrew Jackson supporters organized a political structure in the State designed to help one of the national founders of our Party win the Presidency after he was denied victory in 1824 despite receiving the most total votes for his electors. (Similar to the disturbing electoral tragedy of 2000.) The first meeting of the Democratic (Jackson) Central Committee was held at the Atheneum in Baltimore City, located on the southwest corner of St. Paul and Lexington Streets. 

Twelve delegates from each county and six delegates from Baltimore City were invited to attend. The label "Central Committee" was adopted along with a "Committee of Correspondence" which functioned like our present Executive Committee. Thomas M. Forman, Cecil County, was chosen to preside with William M. Beall, Frederick County, appointed Secretary and John S. Brooke, Prince George's County, appointed as Assistant Secretary. In addition to our historic founding, Maryland Democrats can boast about Baltimore being the birthplace of the National Political Convention and hosting the first six Democratic National Conventions from 1832 to 1852. On May 31, 1838, Maryland Democrats gathered in a state party convention to nominate William Grason for Governor. He became the first popularly elected Governor in Maryland with the help of central committees throughout the state. 

After the ratification of the Suffrage Amendment in 1920, the Democratic State Central Committee added an equal number of women to its membership, a practice still embodied in National Party Rules and in the elections for Cecil County Democratic State Central Committee. From these historic beginnings, the Maryland Democratic Party has held statewide meetings throughout every era of national and state politics. This longevity, coupled with the storied and sterling participation of many Maryland political leaders, is a source of strength for the Maryland Democratic Party at all levels of political activity. 

From 1827 through 2005, the Democratic State Central Committee has performed the traditional political functions relating to appointments, fundraising and campaigning with distinction and virtually unparalleled success.

Take Action

Connect Online